Oh, hello! I’m Cindy.

Welcome, readers! Pretty excited to launch this new, creatively delicious project with my long-time pal, Lisa. Cooking (well, and eating) has always been one of my hobbies. Pop quiz, hot shot: Is there anything more satisfying than a good mise en place? Answer: Nope!

I’m very much an off-the-cuff type of cook. I’ll look at a recipe – okay, honestly, I will just look at the ingredients – take some points from it and interpret the rest on my own. Most of the times, things turn out awesomely… but other times, not so much. I’m looking at this blog as a challenge to hone my cooking skills (knife-related or otherwise)… and, dang it, learn how to follow instructions**!

**Did I mention I don’t have a great track record with baking? Could likely be due to the whole rebelling against instructions thing. So, I’m looking forward to gaining some baking skills as master baker Lisa and I cook the books.

Go-To Meal: One thing I tend to make a lot at home is one of the easiest things ever: We call it Peanut Chicken around these parts. Chicken breast strips sautéed in onion and garlic, tossed in peanut sauce, served on coconut rice with a sprinkle of green onion. We NEVER tire of it and it only takes about 20 minutes from stove top to table!

Foods I Love: Ever have garden fresh radishes sliced thinly on toasted, salty, buttered toast? YUM. Oh, is Sriracha a food? And after 36 years of life, I am only beginning to discover the deliciousness of the mushroom.

Foods I Hate: I’m really not too picky with food but pineapple should not be eaten on top of anything but additional pineapple. Also, I’m with Lisa on this one… someone tell me what’s appealing about an oyster? Finally, let’s not even talk about eggs.

Guilty Pleasure: While I used to love Vienna sausages, I’ll now have a Moon Dog from Half Moon, thanks. (Lisa’s amazing key lime pie also falls into this category.)

Let’s get cooking!

Cindy

4 thoughts on “Oh, hello! I’m Cindy.

  1. Sandy Rubinfeld says:

    Nice! I’m with you on the pineapple thing: I do not like it in pizza. However, I will concede that it is lovely in a trifle, with other fruits. And I am just like you on the recipe thing: I cannot follow a recipe, hence, my baking sucks. What I tend to do when ‘following’ a recipe is to take 2 or 3 recipes for a dish which I only loosely follow (& usually do not read through to the end), and then add my own dash of inspiration. Looking forward to reading some of your recipe creations!

    Liked by 1 person

    • kneadingandknives says:

      Glad to hear there is someone else out there that cooks like me, Sandy! My big challenge is going to be with pastry/baking recipes… ain’t no way you can improvise those! Thank you for following along 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

