Back to Basics: Seasoning a Cast Iron Pan

What’s my least-used item in the kitchen, you ask? Well, that would be my cast iron pan. I can count on one finger how many times I’ve used it. (i.e. Once!) Not sure why, but I’ve just overlooked the pan throughout the years – even though I’ve read that various culinary folk say it’s the only pan you’ll ever need. (You can bake brownies AND crisp up steaks in this thing!)

Sitting in the bottom of the stove for the last decade meant the pan needed some loving! Specifically, a re-seasoning. I looked up a few different instructions online, and here’s what I ended up doing:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°C.
  2. Wash and scrub the pan in warm, soapy water.
  3. Rinse and dry, dry, dry the pan.
  4. Add a bit of oil to the inside of pan and rub it in with a paper/tea towel to form a thin coating.Most instructions recommended vegetable oil or shortening, and a few other recipes said to use the oil of your choice. I ended up using canola oil. A bunch of instructions I found said to rub the outside of the pan with oil as well. Call me a rebel, but I decided to skip this suggestion.
  5. Pop pan into oven and bake for one hour. After an hour, turn off the heat and let it cool while still inside the oven.

Easy peasy – that’s it! Looking forward to making my cast iron skillet part of my regular cooking life. So, someone send me a good cornbread recipe – hint hint!

Cindy

2 thoughts on “Back to Basics: Seasoning a Cast Iron Pan

  1. Connie says:

    Once you start cooking with your cast iron pan – you will love it. I will look for my apple pie recipe in cast iron – my Gramma made it and it is filled with warm and delicious memories of a country kitchen and love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

