Jamie at Home: Warm Strawberries with Pimm’s and Vanilla Ice Cream

So my lovely co-blogger had me over for a delicious birthday dinner…and a large part of our menu was from the Jamie at Home cookbook, including the dessert, which I made.

This recipe was rather easy and delicious.  Cindy and I discussed some adaptations to the recipe as we couldn’t find the ginger in syrup that Jamie had in the recipe and I think they worked wonderfully.  We added lemon zest and juice, doubled the vanilla bean and minced some plain ginger and tossed it all together.

IMG_2665[1]

This recipe was easy to follow, could easily be made for a crowd and easy to prepare.  I also liked that I had an inkling of what the non specific ingredient amounts were (aka splashes of Pimm’s )…though I also had Cindy cooking dinner next to me while I prepped dessert, so I think that was a definite benefit…well…and the fact that we may have imbibed a few cocktails while cooking.

I would love to try this again, but with other summer fruit…sorta like how I adapted the Strawberry Shortcake from Food 52.  I almost can’t wait for next summer so I can make this up again with all of the lovely fresh berries and peaches.

Recipe Rating: 4 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Jamie at Home’s Warm Strawberries with Pimm’s and Vanilla Ice Cream

Serves 4

1 pound of strawberries washed

a couple pieces of ginger in syrup, chopped, plus 3 tablespoons of the ginger syrup from the jar  (*NB – I just minced up some ginger and threw it in, with no syrup)

1 vanilla bean, split lengthwise with seeds scraped out (*NB  – I used two vanilla beans)

a couple of splashes of Pimm’s

8 butter shortbread cookies, crushed

vanilla ice cream

springs of mint for garnish

 Preheat broiler to high.  Hull the strawberries with a knife, cutting off a bit of the flesh too so you get a flat base, and place them in a bowl.  Mix in the ginger syrup, vanilla seeds, Pimm’s and ginger chunks.  Toss together, then place the strawberries on their flat bottoms in a snug-fitting shallow ovenproof dish, tips pointing up in the air.  Pour over the juices and ginger pieces from the bowl,  Place the vanilla bean on top and pop under the preheated broiler for 3-5 minutes until bubbling and delicious looking.

Wrap the shortbread in a kitchen towel or put it in a plastic bag and tie a knot in the end.  Smash it with a rolling pin until you have quite fine crumbs.  When the strawberries have softened and are hot all the way through, divide them between four bowls.  Scrape up all the sticky bits on the bottom of the dish and carefully stir.

Pour the delicious juices over the strawberries and top with a dollop of soft vanilla ice cream.  Sprinkle with the smashed shortbread and place a few mint leaves on top.

One thought on “Jamie at Home: Warm Strawberries with Pimm’s and Vanilla Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

