Joy the Baker Cookbook: 100 Simple and Comforting Recipes – Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

When Lisa and I decided that our October cookbook reviews would be the mainly baking cookbooks of Joy the Baker, I’d say my blood pressure rose a bit. I have not technically baked anything since – gasp – July!

Like I’ve mentioned before, baking isn’t my forté as it’s never something I truly enjoyed due to the regimented/scientific nature. (Sorry!) Alas, it was time for a challenge… and with this first recipe, I think I succeeded.

image2

The end result of this cookie recipe was just plain delicious: sweet and salty, the right amount of crunch and softness. Quite an excellent cookie. The recipe was easy to follow, even though I did have a brain fart at one point and neglected to mix in some sugar at the required step.

I do actually have a big beef with this recipe – namely the inconsistency between the recipe found in the actual cookbook itself, and the recipe I printed off of the blog so that I wouldn’t get the cookbook I grabbed from the library dirty. TOTALLY DIFFERENT! The ingredient measurements were not the same, nor was the oven temperature. Also, the cookbook version said to chill the dough while the blog version didn’t**.

(**While Joy’s preamble to the recipe does briefly talk about chilling, I had only printed the ingredients and instructions portion of the blog recipe. Boo!)

Frustrations aside, I ended up following the ingredient measurements shown in the blog version, and the oven temperature and chilled dough instructions from the cookbook version. While the cookies turned out quite well, I’d be interested to know how they would turned out had I solely followed the blog or cookbook versions!

image3

Recipe Rating: 4 knives out of 5

C is for cookie and that’s good enough for me,
Cindy

*****

View the blog version of the recipe here:
http://joythebaker.com/2014/05/the-best-brown-butter-chocolate-chip-cookies/

 

4 thoughts on “Joy the Baker Cookbook: 100 Simple and Comforting Recipes – Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

