Joy the Baker Homemade Decadence Cookbook: Buttered Popcorn Crispy Treats

…with a twist!

Hey Friends!  I know…I’ve been MIA on the blog for a few weeks, but rest assured, I will make up for it during the rest of October…especially since we are making stuff out of my favourite food blogger’s books and blog – Miss Joy the Baker!!!!!! #omg

So I decided to try Joy’s twist on Rice Krispy Treats, but with an added twist or two of my own.  Given it’s fall and my (and well, Joy’s to be honest), love of brown butter, I made these Buttered Popcorn Crispy treats into Brown Butter-Pumpkin Spice Popcorn Crispy Treats with a white chocolate drizzle.img_34041

The recipe was easy and I loved that she had you make extra popcorn for snacking while you make the squares…because darn…the smells of popcorn and brown butter and all those warm fall spices…even writing this my mouth is watering. No crazy ingredients or fancy cooking techniques…though I wish she had a magic trick of making the melted marshmallows less sticky because oy…such a mess.

I took the squares to a friend’s place.  I only got a tiny square because there was so much other food, including a local Winnipeg delicacy – Jeanne’s Cake…which sadly, I think sorta dwarfed my treats because well, cake>rice krispy treats any day.  The people at my friend’s place said they were good, a few had seconds, but it wasn’t the usual rants and raves I tend to get when I bake.

From my small sample, I think I could’ve added extra pumpkin filling to the marshmallow mixture because it was a bit faint.  But I loved how you could taste the salted, buttery popcorn against the sweetness of a rice krispy treat because who doesn’t love sweet n salty together, #amirite?.  I have a rather large amount of rice krispies left, so I think I may try this recipe again, but maybe as Joy intended, but still with the brown butter…because omg…brown butter is the best….and I think Joy would agree with me on that because um..hello Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies!

I will update this post when I make these closer to Joy’s original vision and let you know how it goes. Also, the recipe posted below is her original recipe.  I’m not including the pumpkin version as, well, it’s far from being perfected.

Recipe Rating: 3 knives out of 5…for now

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Buttered Popcorn Crispy Treats

Makes 32 squares

3 tablespoons of vegetable oil

1/4 cup yellow corn kernels

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 cups crisp rice cereal, like Rice Krispies

1/4 cup salted butter

1 10 ounce bag large marshmallows (around 40)

Coarse sea salt for sprinkling

Generously butter a 9 x 13-inch baking dish.

In a medium saucepan set over medium heat, heat the oil.  Add the corn kernels and put a lid over the pan, keeping the lid slightly askew.  Listen as the popcorn begins to pop.  Once the popping slows, turn off the heat.  Remove the lid and add the salt to the popcorn.

Measure 3 heaping cups of popcorn into a large bowl.  Add the crisp rice cereal (you may have a bit of extra popcorn.  That’s for you to much on).

In the same pan that you popped the popcorn in, melt the butter over medium heat.  Stir in the marshmallows until they are melted and glossy.  Quickly pour the warm marshmallow mixture over the popcorn and cereal mixture. Stir with a wooden spoon until all of the popcorn and cereal are coated in marshmallow and evenly distributed.  Spoon the mixture into the prepared baking dish and use the back of a wooden spoon to press the mixture into the baking dish.  It may help to butter the back of the spoon several times.  That will help the marshmallow not stick to the soon.  Sprinkle the top lightly with sea salt.  Let cool for at least 1 hour.

Cut the treats into 32 squares and wrap individually.  The treats will last, individually wrapped at room temperature, for up to a week.

One thought on “Joy the Baker Homemade Decadence Cookbook: Buttered Popcorn Crispy Treats

Leave a Reply

