Joy the Baker Blog: Turkey and Bacon Meatloaf

So about two years ago, my dad bought me a meatloaf pan in the hopes of me making him a meatloaf as he really likes meatloaf and hadn’t had any in a dog’s age.  At the time I was like, “yep, sure, totes will make it up for ya, Dad.”

Except I didn’t.  #daughterfail

mameatloaf

Insert my name instead of Ma!

 

Now…thanks to this lovely blog, I’m finally repaying my dad’s kindness.  He got his meatloaf…and oh was it delish.

img_34361

mascara on my hand rather than on the onions

 

The recipe itself was rather easy, has no funny prep or ingredients and the smells of the different parts cooking were tremendous.  Truly, nothing gets your stomach rumbling like onion and bacon cooking together.

img_34381

The recipe makes two small loaves.  Joy suggests cooking them on a foil covered cooking sheet.  I used my fancy meatloaf pan (which was great as it allowed for all the fats to drain), but I used a basic loaf pan for the other and it meant that is was sorta floating in a bed of cooking liquid/fats, whatever.  I think next time I will opt to cook the second one on the baking sheet, because seeing the meatloaf just sorta floating all that liquid just weirded me out.

I have always heard awful things about meatloaf…about it being dry and overcooked and what have you.  This was not any of those things.  It was flavourful and moist (god I hate that word), and hit all the notes that good comfort food does.  I even shared some with Cindy and she approved as well.

img_34411

This is definitely a make again recipe for me.

Recipe rating: 5 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Turkey and Bacon Meatloaf

makes 2 small loaves

2 slices soft white bread, torn into pieces

1 cup whole milk

1 large yellow onion, diced.

1 cup diced raw bacon, plus 3 strips of  raw bacon cut in half for cooking the loaf

1 clove garlic, minced

2 pounds ground turkey breast

1 large egg, beaten

3 tablespoons ketchup

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

For the Glaze:

1/2 cup ketchup

3 tablespoons dijon mustard

1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed

Place a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with foil and set aside.

In a small bowl, combine bread crumbs and milk.  Set aside so the bread can absorb the milk.

In a medium skillet over medium heat, stir together the diced onion, minced garlic, and diced bacon.  Allow to cook down and brown until the entire mixture is well browned, about 10 minutes.  Remove from heat and allow to cool for about 5 minutes.

In a large bowl combine ground turkey, egg, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper.  Add the milk soaked bread and discard any remaining milk.  Add the cooked onions, garlic, and bacon.  Stir together with a large spoon until the mixture is thoroughly combined.

Divide the mixture in half and form each portion into an oblong mound on the prepared baking sheet.  Top with the bacon strips.

To make the glaze, combine ketchup, mustard, and brown sugar in a small saucepan over medium-low heat.  Stir together until the sugar is dissolved and the mixture is just starting to boil.  Remove from heat and use a pastry brush to paint a thick layer of glaze onto each loaf.

Bake the meatloaf for about 1 hour, or until the internal temperature reaches 160 degrees F.  Allow the loaves to rest for about 20 minutes before slicing and serving.  Meatloaf can be served warm from the oven or cold from the fridge.

3 thoughts on “Joy the Baker Blog: Turkey and Bacon Meatloaf

  1. staceejean says:

    I am by no means the cook in the house. I leave that up to my other half – must say I quite enjoy not having to think, prep and put it all together. However this recipe intrigued me. I used to cook for us in the early stages of our marriage/family life. One of the things we loved was meatloaf so this twist brought me into the kitchen again. I must say the prep was pretty easy once I had all the ingredients (a couple trips to the store mid prep by Bill to get more ketchup!!). I used a large ceramic baking dish as I don’t have loaf pans – improv isn’t just for comedy. I also used lean pork as opposed to turkey – we didn’t get to the meat man in time to grind the turkey so pork would have to do. Both my husband and my son have now requested this be part of our weekend meal rotation for the winter. Thank you Lisa & Cindy for starting this, it’s made me want to cook again (at least once a month to start). 4 ½ 🍞 out of 5

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

