Joy the Baker Blog: Beer Brownies

img_35271

Bakin’ brownies!

One cannot hit a home run every time…or since I’m a runner, I would change that to one cannot PR/PB (personal record or personal best) in a race every time.

That’s kinda how I feel about these brownies.  These are not a home run or a personal best.  I liken them more to people’s opinions about bad pizza or bad sex… it’s still pretty good even when it’s not so great… #amirite?

These brownies were just… lacking a certain fudgyness in my opinion.  It struck me as odd that it would be lacking in this given the fact that Guinness was used in making these brownies and based on what I know from making Smitten Kitchen’s Beer and Whiskey Cupcakes, I assumed they would be fudgy and amazing but… it just didn’t turn out that way.

I took the liberty of adding some fun Halloween coloured sprinkles to the top, which actually made for a fun, crunchy layer on top of the brownies.   Another interesting thing about these brownies was that they actually got better over time.  When they had finally cooled, I tried a small sample and I was really underwhelmed… I tried some more the next day (because, I mean, who lets brownies go to waste?), and they tasted much better… and better still later that night.

img_35281

I’m not sure how I would “fix” this recipe…maybe try Dutch-process cocoa powder vs regular like the Guinness cupcakes use (but note folks, you need to make other “chemistry” related adaptions to recipes if you are subbing Dutch-process for regular cocoa…and of course the lovely Joy has info on that) and I would probably take out the chocolate chips because I don’t like  having hunks of chocolate in my brownies like that.  I prefer something that is just all brownie and mix-ins like chocolate chips or nuts be kept as a garnish on top.

I will say, however, that like everything Joy posts, it is easy, doesn’t include any while ingredients… well, except maybe dark beer as not everyone is a fan of it or has it on hand like me.  This minor miss on the brownies will not impact my love of Joy as she has guided me through plenty of awesome recipes prior to this blog.

Recipe Rating: 3.5 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Beer Brownies

Yield: 12 large or 24 small brownies

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 1/2 ounces semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup stout or other dark beer, or cold coffee
  • 4 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour a 9 x 13-inch baking pan. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, and salt.
  3. Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a pot of boiling water. In a small pan over medium heat, melt the butter until it just turns golden brown, about 5 minutes. Pour the brown butter into the chocolate and stir until combined. Remove the bowl from the heat and stir in the stour (or coffee).
  4. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together eggs, vanilla and sugars until thick, about 2 minutes. Add the chocolate mixture and whisk to combine. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until all of the ingredients are well combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  5. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until the edges are firm and the center is set. Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely in the pan before slicing.
  6. Slice into 12 large or 24 small brownies.
  7. To store, cover the pan in plastic wrap and keep on the counter for up to one week.
One thought on “Joy the Baker Blog: Beer Brownies

Leave a Reply

