October 2016 | Our final review of Joy the Baker’s Cookbooks and Blog

For the month of October 2016, we cooked through Joy the Baker’s two cookbooks and blog.

What Lisa Had to Say:

I have been a fan of Joy for such a long time.  I have made many recipes by her prior to starting this blog and all of have been delicious.  A few key examples include her avocado chocolate cake, peach pie cinnamon puns, and the brown butter chocolate chip cookies that Cindy actually made for the blog.

Yet, the selections I made from her books and blog for this review…they, for the most part, came up rather short for me.  It is a disappointment to say the least as I felt that this month with Joy was going to be bonkers awesome and alas it wasn’t.

I still have a lot of faith in Joy and her abilities so while my recipe picks were not great, I would still recommend her as a solid option for baking recipes…and well, her meatloaf was effing amazing…so definitely make that.

What Cindy Had to Say:

As someone who doesn’t have a massive sweet tooth, Joy’s first cookbook had a good variety of not-so-sweet recipes to choose from… the hit for me being her Cheddar Jalapeno Chive biscuits which will forever be in my repertoire!

Everything else I made from Joy’s first cookbook was pretty good, but my major beef was that the blog recipes that I printed out (so as to not get the library cookbook all dirty!) differed greatly from the recipes in the first cookbook. Not cool.

Overall, I would recommend Joy’s first cookbook to beginner bakers like me… although with slightly feigning enthusiasm.

Recipes We Cooked: Apple Pie, Cold Butter Crust, Beer Brownies, Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies, Turkey and Bacon Meatloaf, Perfect Kettle Corn, Cheddar, Chive and Jalapeño Biscuits, Buttered Popcorn Crispy Treats, Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Final Cookbook Verdict: Recommended

yes

 

Leave a Reply

