Cooking off the Books: Mulligatawny Soup (or Stew)

Long, long time ago…there was a restaurant in Winnipeg called Soup Pierre.  They made all sorts of lovely soups…and one of them was Mulligatawny.  They made it about once a month, always on a Friday.  Soup Pierre closed down in Winnipeg about a decade ago and well, that was the last time I had eaten Mulligatawny. *sob*

I searched for recipes..and really couldn’t find anything that seemed to match the lovely things inside Soup Pierre’s recipe…until I saw this post on Spoon Fork Bacon.  I almost cried.  It had all the yummy things I remembered from Soup Pierre’s.

And let me tell you, it did NOT disappoint.  This soup is AMAZING and it’s creamy and like a big bowl of stick to your ribs, warm comfort.  It’s essentially a soupy-stew hug.  And yes, I do realize what a weird mental picture that is providing you. But on a day like today, when there are blizzard conditions happening out my window, a soupy-stew hug is totes necessary.

img_39011

mis en place

I also ran this soup by my favourite taste tester – my dad.  To say he liked it was an understatement.  He ate five small bowls in 24 hours…and then he came back to try and take the little bit I rationed to take with me to work on Monday.

 

img_39101

YUUUUUUUUUUUUM!

 

I would recommend this recipe, full stop…and in fact, I think if you are a curry fan (or your family happens to like curries), you may wish to make a double recipe.  I think I am going to do that this weekend because holy crap…soooooo good.

Recipe rating: 5 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Mulligatawny
Serves 4 to 6

Ingredients:
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
1 yellow onion, chopped
2 ribs celery, diced
1 medium carrot, peeled and diced
1 red jalapeno, seeded and diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 teaspoons fresh ginger, peeled and minced
2 small apples, peeled, cored and diced
1 roma tomato, seeded and diced
2 1/2 teaspoons curry powder
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper
1 tablespoon minced thyme
1/2 cup red or yellow lentils (uncooked)
3 cups chicken stock
2/3cup coconut milk
salt to and extra black pepper to taste
toppings and garnish:
cooked jasmine rice
roasted and shredded chicken breast (I roasted boneless, skinless chicken thighs for mine)
golden raisins
cilantro, roughly chopped

Directions:
1. Place a large pot over medium-high heat and melt butter. Add onion, celery, carrot, and jalapeno and sauté for 5 minutes. Add garlic, ginger, apples, and tomato and continue to sauté for an additional 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

2. Add all the spices, thyme and lentils to the pot and sauté for 3 minutes. Add stock and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium, medium-low and simmer mixture for about 30 to 40 minutes or until lentils have cooked through.

3. Pour mixture into a blender or using and immersion blender, puree until smooth. (NOTE: I didn’t do this…I am not a fan of super smooth soups – also, because of this, I didn’t add in the rice toppings)

4. Pour mixture back into the pot and simmer for 2 minutes. Stir in coconut milk and adjust seasonings.

5. To serve: Place about 1/2 cup of rice at the bottom of each bowl and top with a ladle of soup. Top soup with shredded chicken, a sprinkle of raisins and finally the cilantro. Season with freshly cracked black pepper. Serve.

3 thoughts on “Cooking off the Books: Mulligatawny Soup (or Stew)

Leave a Reply

