Oh She Glows: Super Power Chia Bread

Hey there!

It’s not often that I bake ANYTHING that sorta turns my stomach and reminds me of baby vomit…but yeah…this did.

img_42171

I KNOW!  RIGHT!  Totally baby vomit..well, seedy baby vomit…and yes, I realize that image is not the best way to start a blog post on a food blog.

I did have high hopes.  I thought it would be similar to Wasa crackers.  Light, crisp and the perfect vessel for all sorts of toppings.

But…this had onion powder and garlic powder…and that, with all the many seeds, just gave it a weird, savoury flavour. I just felt it wasn’t a neutral at all and you pretty much had to pick a savoury topping or eat it plain.

img_42201Then there was the consistency and colour…like I said…it looked a bit like baby vomit before it was baked…..  After it was baked…it wasn’t much better.  Even looking at these pics as I am writing the post is making me a bit queasy.  It was thicker than it should be, because I only had an 8×8 pan, not the 9×9 that the recipe called for.  I cooked it about 10 minutes longer, thinking it would be enough…and despite being “firm” as per the directions, it was still sorta gummy in the middle.  The gumminess dissipates a tad when toasted, but is still not great.

One thing that is great about this bread, however, is how filling it is.  In her recipe, Angela touts “Thick, hearty, and dense – this isn’t your average slice of bread! Packed with 9 grams of protein and over 7 grams of fibre per slice, this bread will keep you going for hours.”  She is most certainly right.  Very filling and filling in a satisfying way…like satiated…but not weighed down.  Oh and it travels really well….another plus…which bums me out as I could see this as an excellent lunch accompaniment to my salads or some soup.

I’m not sure if I would try it again…this first batch was sort of enough to put me off.  If I was, I would probably make it in a 9×11 pan to ensure a super thing, crisp flat bread and see how that worked.  I would probably also take out the herbs and just keep in the salt, because the herbs…especially when toasted, are really noticeable. If you do opt to make this bread and make a thinner version or even one without all the herbs, let me know how it goes…maybe I can give this another whirl.

Recipe rating: 1 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Oh She Glows: Super Power Chia Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds*
  • 1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free rolled oats, ground into a flour
  • 1/4 cup raw buckwheat groats, ground into a flour (or more oat flour)
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1 cup water

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325F and line a 9-inch square pan with two pieces of parchment paper, one going each way.

2. Add rolled oats and buckwheat into a high-speed blender. Blend on highest speed until a fine flour forms.

3. Add all dry ingredients into a large bowl and stir well until combined. Stir in the water until combined. The mixture will be very watery and runny at first, but it will thicken up fairly quick.  Scoop it into the pan and spread it out with a spatula as evenly as possible. You can use lightly wet hands to smooth it down if necessary. Sprinkle the bread with Herbamare or fine grain sea salt before going into the oven.  I sprinkled mine with Herbamare and some hemp hearts.

4. Bake at 325F for about 25 minutes, or until firm to the touch. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes and then lift it out and transfer it to a cooling rack for another 5-10 minutes. Slice and enjoy!

5. This bread keeps for 2-3 days max – any longer and it gets gummy in texture. I suggest freezing it for enduring freshness. I like to toast it straight from the freezer!

3 thoughts on “Oh She Glows: Super Power Chia Bread

Leave a Reply

