Spoon Fork Bacon Blog: Honey Chipotle Chicken Burrito Bowls

Heigh ho folks!

I know I have been a smidgen MIA lately…but I promise it is for a good reason.  I am now officially the owner of my first house! Huzzah! I think the thing I am most excited about is the kitchen…look. at. this. kitchen.  So. Pretty!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The process of getting to an approved/signed offer probably took  years off of my life expectancy…and I curse the people who told me that shopping for a house was fun.  On the day when things were at their most stressful, I opted to make the recipe I’m featuring on the blog.

I was burnt out and for the first time in a long time, I really only used the recipe as a guide….and I simply just found a flow and cooked on instinct.  It’s the first time that I can recall ever having done that with a new recipe and it felt pretty good. The only thing that didn’t feel good about this recipe was the fact that, despite all my rinsing and washing of the quinoa, a bit of sand and, if you can believe it, a little rock remained…which I bit into, causing a filling to loosen and a quasi emergency trip to the dentist.  Sigh….damn you quinoa…damn you to hell.

The recipe makes 2-3 servings, but I would suggest that you double it because omg…so damn good.  I would especially recommend making more of the chicken because I found myself sneaking a few bites of the sweet and spicy mixture when I had a mild hunger pang, but couldn’t find anything else I wanted to eat.

To get your cooked chicken, you could, presumably, do it however you wish (grab a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store, bake some chicken breasts up…whatevs). I cooked my chicken by boiling it in what was left of the plain chicken stock (which would otherwise go to waste in my fridge ) for about 25-35 minutes, until done.  It made for easy, moist (gah I hate that word), chicken….perfect for these burrito bowls.

If you can’t find queso, use some dry, crumbled feta like I did.  If you are taking this as a “to-go” lunch like I did, you may wish to keep your crumbled taco chips separate as, by the time you eat them, they won’t be so crisp and you will lose that lovely texture that they provide.  You also don’t HAVE to use guac…I just sliced up half an avocado and threw it in…just as delish without the extra work. Oh and same goes for corn – I just cooked up some frozen stuff – mostly because corn on the cob is out of season and firing up the bbq right now just doesn’t appeal to me.

img_44941

Are you not impressed with how unfussed I am with this recipe?  I know I am. 🙂

In light of my issue with the quinoa, I may opt to make this recipe with rice or some other grain in the future, vs quinoa…because well, I can’t be bothered with all the rinsing and then having to worry about breaking my mouth.  I think you could sub in virtually any grain and it would work because the flavours from the amped up cooking liquid would be soooo delish.

I would, without a doubt, recommend you try this recipe because I am pretty darn confident it will become a stable in your home.  So go out, grab the ingredients, and whip yourself up a most delish and comforting meal.

Recipe Rating: 5 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Spoon Fork Bacon’s

Honey Chipotle Chicken Burrito Bowls

Serves 2 to 3
Ingredients:
Cilantro-Lime Quinoa:
2 1/4 cups warm chicken stock
2 garlic cloves
3/4 bunch cilantro, divided and chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 cup dry quinoa
zest and juice of 1 large lime

Honey-Chipotle Chicken:
3 tablespoons minced chipotle in adobe
3 tablespoons honey
2 heaping cups cooked and shredded chicken breasts, warm
salt and pepper to taste

Mix-ins:
black beans
lightly charred sweet corn
pico de gallo
guacamole
sour cream or crèma
crumbled queso fresco
fried corn tortilla strips/bits, optional
hot sauce, optional
lime wedges, optional

Directions:
For quinoa: Place stock, garlic, 1/2 bunch of cilantro, and salt into a blender and blend for 2 minutes.

Pour oil into a medium pot and place over medium-high heat. Add quinoa and toast for 2 to 3 minutes. Pour cilantro-garlic infused stock into the pot with quinoa and bring to a boil.

Lower the heat to medium and bring stock to a hard simmer. Partially cover and continue to simmer until quinoa until the stock has been absorbed and the quinoa has cooked through.

Add the lime zest and juice to the quinoa, season with salt and pepper and fluff together with a fork. Set aside.

For chicken: Combine the chipotle with adobe and honey into a small mixing bowl and whisk together. Pour mixture over the shredded chicken and toss together until completely combined. Set aside.

To assemble: Scoop some of the cilantro-lime quinoa into each bowl and top with desired remaining ingredients. Sprinkle each bowl with remaining cilantro and serve.

Leave a Reply

