Gimme Some Oven Blog: Comforting Curry Noodle Bowls

Hey Folks!

Lately I have been in desperate need of comfort food.  My work life has been a bit stressful.  Not being able to run has left me feeling really lethargic and all of the excitement and stress of setting my new to me home is starting to wear me out a bit.

So, when I saw this “comforting” bowl of curry and noodles, I HAD to make it…plus I saw that shrimp was on this and well, since I have never cooked shrimp before (yes, yes, told you I am a baker, not a cook)…I figured this would add a nice challenge.

Sadly, this challenge took FOREVER.  I bought the shelled but not de-veined shrimp…so I had to thaw them out (which meant running them under cold water, which was easy), but then had to  devein…and it was miserable…especially because they weren’t entirely defrosted, so the cold started to ruin the dexterity of my fingers just a bit…sigh.

IMG_4613[1]

Once I got going though, got my mis en place happening, things were relatively smooth for the most part.  I didn’t over cook the shrimp.  The curry paste I bought was strange.  I couldn’t find that little jar of Thai brand red curry paste, so I opted for this weird plastic tub…and it just wouldn’t melt in the broth I made, which I didn’t realize at first so I ended up adding a hint too much, making for a very powerful, though tasty broth.

IMG_4610[1]

Stuff came in a plastic bag in a plastic tub…so weird.

The whole shebang came together quite nicely, aside from the non melting curry paste and the shrimp deveining drama.  The only thing that I wish these noodle bowls had was more veggies.  I added some spinach because I had some greens on hand and wanted to use them before they went bad…and I think that if I were to make this again, I would definitely add some more veggies…some that I think could be included and delicious are: broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms, diced butternut or sweet potato (which will probably require a longer cooking time), sliced zucchini,  yellow squash, peas, corn, or chickpeas. Granted, if you add these other veg, make sure they are cut up small so they cook quickly and are easy to eat.

IMG_4614[1]

All in all, I would definitely recommend this noodle bowl.  Definitely comforting, definitely carby and delicious in terms of flavour.

Recipe rating: 3.75 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Gimme Some Oven Blog:

Comforting Curry Noodle Bowls

Yields 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces uncooked thin rice noodles
  • 1 pound jumbo shrimp*, peeled and de-veined
  • Kosher salt and freshly-cracked black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil or coconut oil, divided (or any mild-flavored cooking oil)
  • 1 small white onion, peeled and thinly-sliced
  • 1 large red bell pepper, cored and diced
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 3 tablespoons Thai red curry paste
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans coconut milk (regular or light coconut milk)
  • 2 cups chicken or vegetable or seafood stock
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • optional: 1-2 red Thai chillies**, thinly-sliced
  • toppings: chopped fresh cilantro, thinly-sliced red onions

Directions:

Cook rice noodles according to package instructions.  Drain and rinse with cold water, and set aside.  For my noodles, that meant soaking them for about 15 minutes in cold water and then I threw them into the broth at the end to cook for a few minutes

Meanwhile, lay out the raw shrimp on a plate and pat dry with a paper towel.  Season the shrimp generously on both sides with a pinch of salt and pepper. I must say, make sure you get shrimp that is already deveined if you want to save time…it took me forever as quick deveining is not a skill I have in my repertoire.

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large stock pot over medium-high heat.  Add shrimp and cook for 1-2 minutes per side, until the shrimp are pink and opaque and cooked through. Remove from pan with a slotted spoon and set aside.

Add the remaining 1 tablespoon oil to the stockpot.  Add sliced onion, bell pepper and carrot, and sauté, stirring occasionally, for 6-8 minutes or until the onion is soft and translucent.  Add garlic and sauté for 1-2 more minutes, stirring occasionally, until fragrant.

Add in the coconut milk, stock and ginger (and chiles, if using), and stir to combine.  Continue cooking until the mixture reaches a simmer.  Reduce heat to medium, and continue simmering for 5-10 more minutes.

Stir in the noodles.  Taste, and season with extra salt and pepper and curry paste to taste.  (Feel free to add a few generous pinches of salt and pepper, especially if the stock you use is not very salty.

Serve warm, topped with a few pieces of the cooked shrimp, and your desired toppings.

*Feel free to use a protein other than shrimp if you’d like, such as cooked chicken, pork, beef, or tofu.  Also, if you’d like to save time, you can cook the protein in a separate sauté pan while you begin cooking the onion, etc. in the large stockpot.

**Thai chillies are pretty spicy, so I recommend only adding these if you like heat in your food.  And I recommend starting with fewer slices, and then you can always add more if you’d like.

One thought on “Gimme Some Oven Blog: Comforting Curry Noodle Bowls

Leave a Reply

