Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals: Sausage Fusilli with Creamy Garden Salad

Hey Folks!

Recipe number two for me from Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals….oh and yet again, this took way longer than 15 minutes…but I also didn’t even try to rush this time because…I just couldn’t be bothered.  Work craziness and moving stress…I just honestly don’t have it in me to add cooking mess to the deal.

IMG_4903[1]

the reality of 15-minute recipes – three or more things happening at once

This recipe felt much easier than the first 15-minute meal I cooked.  Maybe it was because I took my time.  I got everything all mis en place for the most part, which helped a fair bit from a cooking stress perspective.

I think one of the biggest struggles in getting this recipe was not having enough room to do stuff.  I kept having to move stuff as I only have a small amount of counter space, so I couldn’t have all my ingredients out, three pans started on the stove, my food processor and salad fixins.  I think that if I had a hint more room, maybe it would’ve saved me a handful of minutes.IMG_4901[1]

The pasta tastes pretty darn great.  I would absolutely make it again.  Though I would like to add in some sautéed mushrooms because I just love mushrooms in tomato based pasta dishes.  It tasted really fresh and flavourful and had this interesting brightness to it, which I think was a result of the balsamic vinegar.

The salad…massively disappointing…the dressing was over lemony (so please do only put lemon juice in to taste) and just missing something…and what that is I am not really sure.  Since I used greek yogurt, I had to add a smidge of skim milk to thin it out a bit.  The ingredients in the salad were also a bit bland.  I think just greens (even though I only had two of the three kinds) was just boring.  It could have used some cucumber or maybe some toasted pine nuts or almonds for crunch.  I have since tried to fix the dressing to make it a hint more palatable so it doesn’t go to waste…but in the future, this is a salad I will definitely not be making.

IMG_4910[1]

Recipe Rating (pasta): 4 knives out of 5

Recipe Rating (salad): 0 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals: Sausage Fusilli with Creamy Garden Salad

Ingredients out – Kettle boiled – Grill pan, high heat – Food processor (metal blade) – Large frying pan, high heat – Large lidded saucepan, high heat

Serves 4

Sausage Fusilli
4 good-quality pork sausages
olive oil
1 large red onion
1 heaping tsp fennel seeds
4 roasted red peppers from a jar
4 sprigs of fresh rosemary
4 garlic cloves
320g  or 11 oz of dried fusilli
3 tbsp thick balsamic vinegar, plus extra to serve
1 1/2 cups passata

Creamy Garden Salad
1 head of bibb lettuce (I subbed in green and red leaf lettuce)
2 large handfuls of baby spinach or arugula
1 cup of sprouted cress (not used because I couldn’t find it)
2 tsp English mustard (I used a grainy dijon)
1 lemon, juiced
3 tbsp non-fat yogurt (I used non fat greek)
1 bunch of fresh chives

Start Cooking

Score the sausages lengthways about three-quarters of the way through, open them out like a book, then rub with 1 teaspoon of oil and place on the grill pan, cut-side down, turning regularly, until crispy and cooked through.

Peel and halve the red onion, then pulse in the processor with the fennel seeds, peppers, half of the rosemary leaves and a pinch of salt and pepper. Put into the large frying pan with 1 tablespoon of oil, squash in the unpeeled garlic through a garlic press (I didn’t do this because eff the garlic press) and stir frequently.

Put the pasta into the saucepan, cover with boiling salted water and cook following the package instructions.

Add the balsamic and passata to the veg pan.

Trim the lettuce and cut into wedges, then arrange with the spinach or arugula around a nice board or platter and snip over the sprouted cress.

Toss the remaining rosemary leaves with the sausages until crispy, then remove from the heat.

Make a dressing by mixing the mustard, yogurt and lemon juice (I waaaay over did the lemon…so fair warning…lemon to taste is key) with a pinch of salt and pepper.  Finely chop the chives, stir half through the dressing, then drizzle over the salad.

Drain the pasta, reserving a cupful of the starchy cooking water, then toss well with the sauce, loosening with a splash of cooking water, if needed.  Season to taste and tip onto a platter, scatter remaining chives, chop and scatter over the sausages and finish with a drizzle of balsamic from a height.

3 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals: Sausage Fusilli with Creamy Garden Salad

  1. One-Way to Health says:

    I think it takes 15 minutes only if you already have all the ingredients prepared in front of you and if you know the recipe like the back of your hand! 😄 the pasta sounds delicious, sausage and pasta, what’s not to like? 😉 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

