Pinch of Yum Blog: Balsamic Watermelon Chicken Salad

Hey All,

This moving thing has really put a YUGE damper on my blogging…mostly because I have not had access to a fridge or a stove in my new place…until this past weekend.

IMG_5088[1]

my precious…..

I tested out my new convection oven with The Kitchn’s Perfected Chocolate Chip Cookies, of course…and they were fabulous.  I was a bit nervous with the convection setting, but I didn’t need to fear as it all turned out amazingly. YAY!

I also roasted up my first chicken in my stove last night and that wasn’t quite so straight forward (though it turned out perfectly in the end) given I used the temperature probe that came with the stove.  It’s going take some time to learn it, I think.

I prepped the chicken using Turkey Paste from William Sonoma.  You need to get this stuff ( I can’t put the link as it’s not on the site as it’s only available in the fall) because its so easy and yummy and a little goes a long way.  And since I had this yummy chicken all ready to go as well as some other key ingredients (including watermelon, thanks to a generous drop off from my Auntie Kim), I figured that this recipe was the thing to make for dinner.

Plus, it marks a return to eating real, non-take out food…like proper vegetables and un-fried foods. YAAAAS!

So onto the recipe.  Was very nice, super easy…like even if I had to cook up the chicken and carve up the watermelon, it would still be easy peasy.  It was filling and delicious and well, who knew I liked blue cheese?!

IMG_5101[1]

First time for everything-buying blue cheese!

One thing that I sort of screwed up was making the balsamic reduction.  I know, I know…how do you mess that up?!  Well, having a new stove and being distracted–that’s how.  Instead of cooking it down to a nice drizzle…I cooked it down to almost a caramel. Sigh.  Such a waste of balsamic…but alas, it still tasted great, despite some chewy bits. Hah!

IMG_5103[1]

Looks good, right?

I also added a bit of cucumber to this as I just can’t help myself. I love cucumber with salad so feel free to do the same in yours, if you want.

Oh and the best part of this salad, next to the ease of prepping it, was that it just tasted like summer…and since it was a warmer spring night, it just seemed like the perfect choice for my dinner last night.

Recipe rating: 4 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

 Pinch of Yum’s Balsamic Watermelon Salad

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 cup balsamic vinegar

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts

3 teaspoons all purpose seasoning (Pinch of Yum used a spice mix from a specialty food store – I used William’s Sonoma Turkey Paste)

1 tablespoons olive oil

4 cups baby spinach or greens

2 cups cubed watermelon

½ cup blue cheese crumbles

¼ cup sliced or crushed almonds

sliced cumber – optional (this is my own addition and not part of the original recipe

 

Instructions

Pour the balsamic vinegar into a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes until the balsamic vinegar is significantly reduced and starting to become syrupy.

Meanwhile, turn a grill or nonstick skillet to high heat. Sprinkle the chicken with the seasoning on both sides and drizzle with the olive oil. Transfer to the hot grill and cook until no longer pink on the inside and nicely browned on the outside. Let rest for 5 minutes; cut into small cubes.

Layer the spinach with the chicken, watermelon, blue cheese, almonds, and drizzle with the balsamic reduction to taste. Top with additional olive oil if desired.

One thought on “Pinch of Yum Blog: Balsamic Watermelon Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

