Pinch of Yum Blog’s Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burritos

Mmmmm….burritos.

IMG_5114[1]

Sorry for the Homer Simpson moment…I just…I remember how good these tasted and it makes me want one bad, bad, bad.

I made these for dinner for a friend that was coming to check out my new (to me) house.  The recipe was rather simple.  I experimented with it a bit, using some beer to deglaze my Dutch oven of all those yummy brown bits leftover from cooking the ground chicken (couldn’t find ground turkey).

IMG_5111[1]

I used most of the recommended veggies – peppers, onions, mushrooms and zucchini.  I forgot to add the frozen corn I had bought for the burritos, but no matter it was delicious.  My only real complaint was that there was a lot of liquid in the burrito filling.  I am thinking it might be because I didn’t sweat the zucchini before throwing it in, but I really don’t know.  It was delicious, regardless of the fact that the burritos were crazy messy to eat.

IMG_5115[1]I made some guacamole, put out some feta (can’t find Cotija Cheese at my local supermarkets), salsa, cilantro, plain greek yogurt (instead of sour cream) and hot sauce for additional condiments.  I highly recommend putting these items out to accompany your burritos because they compliment the flavours nicely.

My dinner guest and I both eagerly ate two burritos and felt pleasantly stuffed.  I had a LOT of filling leftover (not as surprise given that this recipe should make 15 burritos).  I rolled up the rest of the burritos and have them waiting for me in my freezer.  Unfortunately, I have not had the chance to try out the frozen versions yet, but I’m feeling confident that they will be just as good as they were when they were freshly made…but I will provide an update on the blog here when I finally give one a whirl.

I would definitely recommend making these burritos, full stop. I think the fact that it makes enough to put away for quick, future meals is fabulous. Definitely whip up a batch, pronto!

Recipe rating: 5 knives out of 5

Om, nom, nom,

Lisa

*****

Pinch of Yum Blog: Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burritos (Make Ahead)

Serves: 15 burritos

Ingredients

Filing Part One (Turkey):

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • ½ onion, minced
  • 3 lbs. ground turkey
  • 2 tablespoon EACH chili powder and cumin
  • 3-5 individual chipotle peppers (canned in adobo sauce), minced
  • 2 teaspoons salt

Filling Part Two (Vegetables):

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • ½ onion, minced
  • 1 tablespoon EACH chili powder and cumin
  • 4-5 cups chopped veggies like carrots, zucchini, sweet potatoes, bell peppers, etc. (see notes for specifics)
  • 1 cup chicken broth (more as needed)
  • 1 14-ounce can pinto or black beans
  • 2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese
  • 1½ cups plain Greek yogurt

For Serving:

  • 15 10-inch tortillas
  • avocado, hot sauce, cilantro, etc. for serving

Instructions

  1. Filling Part One: Heat the tablespoon oil in a large Dutch oven or stock pot. Add the onion and the turkey; as the turkey cooks, add the spices, chipotle peppers, and salt. Cook until the turkey is browned and fully cooked. When the meat is saucy and delicious-looking, transfer to a large bowl and set aside.
  2. Filling Part Two: In the same pot, add the oil, onion, veggies, and spices. Saute for a few minutes until the vegetables are mostly soft. Add enough broth to barely cover the vegetables and simmer for 10 minutes or so, until the vegetables are soft and the mixture has thickened. Add the beans, meat, cheese, and yogurt. Stir until creamy. Also at this point it’s a good idea to taste and add salt or more seasoning to make sure you’re all good on flavor.
  3. Fill each tortilla with about ½ cup of the filling, fold up (I spread a little goat cheese or avocado on the sides to help them stick together), and wrap with plastic or foil. Store in the freezer for quick, grab-and-go lunches and dinners!
  4. To heat and eat, either pop in the microwave (takes about 5 minutes for a semi-thawed burrito) or in the oven (I’ve never been patient enough to do it this way so I don’t have a good time guideline here) or a combo with the microwave and then on a skillet if you’re at home so you can get that golden brown exterior. That’s the best way.

Notes

For more smoky heat, add additional chipotles. For more HOT heat, add a good shake of cayenne to the meat and vegetable mixture.

For vegetables, I always use a few different veggies based on whatever’s left in the fridge. But if you want direct amounts, I’d suggest 1 sweet potato, 5 carrots, and 3 bell peppers.

Also – technically the cheese and Greek yogurt could be optional, but I like the mixture to be a little creamy. It also helps it stick together better.

 

One thought on “Pinch of Yum Blog’s Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burritos

Leave a Reply

