May 2017 | Our Final Review of Pinch of Yum

Our cookbook (well… blog!) for May 2017 was Pinch of Yum.

Lisa’s Thoughts:

Pinch of Yum – totally not a misleading title.  Lindsay’s blog is full of yummy things to make.  Unfortunately, due to the chaos that was purchasing appliances for my new to me house, I was only able to make a few recipes from her blog – which was a total bummer….but I am confident that I will be making more things from her blog because…omg..so many things.  I also liked that it didn’t require outlandish ingredients for most of the recipes…and a lot of them were chock full of veggies and were generally quite healthy.  They also weren’t overly complicated, which I appreciated after a month with that Jamie Oliver 15 Minute nightmare book.

I loved the burritos I made of hers…and love that they are in my freezer and have made for delish dinners on nights when I can’t be bothered to make a proper dinner…and for the record….the reheated burritos taste great – but they do take about 25 minutes in the oven to warm up (since I currently don’t have my microwave installed…sad).  I loved the other dishes I made, too…and already have my eye on a few others to make in the future when I’m not pulling my hair out with the craziness that is moving.

I also liked that her blog includes blogging tips and parts from her real life, both the terrific and the tragic.  It makes her more real and relatable and for whatever reason, it made me enjoy visiting the blog more.  It also made me want to drive to Twin Cities and give her a hug.

So, if you are looking for healthy, delish food – def. at Pinch of Yum to your regular food blog repertoire.  You will not be sorry.

Cindy’s Thoughts:

Hurrah! After a disaster of a cookbook in April, May was a wonderful month of cooking from the Pinch of Yum blog! Lindsay’s recipes are simply, healthy, quick and most importantly… delicious.

Like Lisa mentions above, the recipes didn’t require outlandish ingredients. The vibe of the recipes and the way they were written were similar to The Kitchn, which I loved: friendly and approachable.

This is a definite blog to bookmark and use regularly. (Especially those soft chocolate chip cookies!) Plain and simple: I love just kind of everything about the Pinch of Yum blog.

Recipes We Cooked: Spicy Sausage Rigatoni, Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burritos, Balsamic Watermelon Chicken Salad, The Best Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies, Burst Tomato and Zucchini Spaghetti with Avocado, Brown Butter Scallops with Parmesan Risotto

Final Verdict: Highly Recommended

yes

Leave a Reply

