Gin Aperol ‘Buch Spritz

It’s no secret that I love kombucha. Yup, that funky sour fermented tea!

I actually started drinking the stuff a few years back, after a holistic nutritionist suggested I add more probiotic foods and supplements to my diet. (End result? No more painful stomach aches!) It took about a week for kombucha to please my palate. Upon first taste, I found it extremely bubbly and vinegary… but that sensation and taste became a little addictive! I drink the ‘buch regularly now, at least a few bottles per week.

An email from Bon Appetit’s Healthyish popped up in my inbox last week, with the title “Should you rethink your drink?” The first recipe link on it? 3 Perfect Kombucha Cocktails. With the August long weekend approaching, I knew I had to devise my own concoction!

Taking inspiration from this recipe, my Gin Aperol ‘Buch Spritz was born:

  • 1 oz gin
  • 1 oz cucumber vodka
  • 2 oz Aperol
  • Splash of club soda
  • Berry-flavoured kombucha (I used Brew Dr.’s Superberry)
  • Mint for garnish

Fill a glass with a few ice cubes. Add alcohol in order of above. Add a splash of club soda and top off your glass with kombucha. Stir very gently. Add a sprig of mint for garnish.

IMG_9831

Smoky Aperol, fresh flavours from the gin and cucumber vodka combined with the bubbly sourness of kombucha… this is a heck of a cocktail!

Bottom’s up!
Cindy

Leave a Reply

